I heard the sad news today,that the Soho institution The stockpot is set to close this Sunday. My facebook feed was up in arms this morning, but sadly, this is what it’s like in London these days, you walk down a street you haven’t  been down for a while and bang, it’s all changed. I have been going to the Stockpot for 15 years, I first started going when I was an actor, and it was always packed with people I knew, when we weren’t in there it was the one in Panton street or The west End Kitchen. There were once 7 Stockpots in London now only the Kings Road one is left. I was told that it’s because of the rents in Soho but internet rumor has said it’s because the boss wants to retire, the other Stockpot is still open though. I fear that it will be replaced by some trendy bar or cafe , with sky high prices. I can’t think how many times I have been in there and the conversations I overheard, the colorful locals. I remember the artist Sebastian  Horsley was a regular at one time, I also remember sitting outside one summer day, and seeing him walking through the crowd, only to read he had died two days previously.

I don’t want to be overly morbid, but the beginning of the end started some time ago, and the changing face of London seems to be speeding up. I only hope when everything is gone ,there’s something left for me. I like when it’s different, but it’s just not the same.

stockpot-eat-drink-cafs-delis-large (1)

Apple crumble and jelly and cream please.

